Tag Archives: FM Belfast

Brighten up your day with FM Belfast’s new video

Artist: FM Belfast | Video: Brighter Days

FM Belfast presents their new record Brighter Days by saying: “We hope it will brighten up your days and adds colour to whatever you are doing.” The video to the song is certainly following the same philosophy, and the concept is very simple; the band members dance and goof around in Reykjavik. 

FM Belfast have built up a reputation for being one of Iceland’s best live acts. Their did first gig in a cave in the Faroe Islands and since then they have toured all over the world. The members of FM Belfast are the same as before – Árni Rúnar Hlöðversson, Lóa Hjálmtýsdóttir, Árni Vilhjálmsson and Örvar Smárason– a tight collective that often is expanded with other musicians and friends of the band in the studio or on stage. In the video you can for instance see Borko – friend and collaborator with most of the local musical elite – dancing away at a public restroom.

An eruption of quality music from Iceland


Artists: Various | Album: This Is Icelandic Indie Music Vol. 2

For some exciting new Icelandic music check out a new compilation released by Record RecordsThis Is Icelandic Indie Music Vol. 2 features thirteen tracks, all of them Record Records artists. The first volume came out in 2013 and was the biggest selling compilation that was released in Iceland that year. 

Record Records is an independent record label based in Reykjavík. The labels roster includes an impressive line-up of artists such as Of Monsters and Men, Bloodgroup, Agent Fresco, Mammút, Ensími, Lára Rúnars, Sykur and more.

All the artist on the new record are members of the label, and the quality of work is extremely high. We have written about many of the tracks here on Icytopics, just click on the links below to read more. You can also listen to the album on Spotify, or download on iTunes or Amazon.  Do it! It’s worth every second of your time…


  1. Mammút – Blóðberg
  2. Ojba Rasta – Ég veit ég vona
  3. FM Belfast – Brighter Days
  4. Agent Fresco – Dark Water
  5. Benny Crespo’s Gang – Birthmarks
  6. Leaves – Ocean
  7. Mono Town – Peacemaker
  8. Júníus Meyvant – Color Decay
  9. Lay Low – Gently
  10. Tilbury – Turbulence
  11. Vök – Before
  12. Hymnalaya – In My Early Years
  13. Snorri Helgason – Kveðja

FM Belfast are back!


Artist: FM Belfast | Single: Everything | Album: Brighter Days

They are not from Belfast, but from Reykjavik. They sing with rock-hard consonants, but in a cosy way. They have a catchy melody about running around in their underwear. And in Austria they are  famous for the soundtrack to a mobile phone commercial.

FM Belfast are releasing their new record April 22. “Brighter Days”. Only a few tour dates are announced this spring and summer, in Austria (surprise, surprise) and at some German festivals. Hopefully they will come to more countries playing live.

  • 22 May Vienna Arena, Austria
  • 30-31 May Immergut Festival, Germany
  • 18–20 July Melt! Festival, Germany
  • 24-26 July Appletreegarden Festival, Germany